top of page
  • Photo du rédacteurNEW KG

Indie Band The Burma Announces Sucker For Stars Album

Rocking Indie Band

The Burma

RELEASES Sucker For Stars Album

SHARES Title Track

ALBUM RELEASE DATE: 14 October 2022

LABEL: The Burma Music

Bold indie rock trio The Burma released their long-awaited album, Sucker For Stars, on the 14th of October via The Burma Music. Listeners are invited to discover the yet-to-be-heard title track, which premiered on NOTION Magazine, has recently been supported by Hot Press, and features alongside the band’s chart-topping single ‘Don’t Believe Your Dreams, a record that rose to No.1 in the Irish iTunes single charts and landed at No.6 in The Homegrown Top 20 in the Official Charts. Also taken from their album is the single Sleepers’, which climbed its way to No.4 on Irish iTunes and No.12 on The Homegrown Top 20. It is unsurprising that noteworthy tastemaker publications have praised the band, namely The Spill Magazine, Variance Magazine, RTÉ XM, CLASH Magazine, Rolling Stone India, Hot Press and Pop Off, to mention a few, and received extensive national airplay, most recently from Louder Than War, collecting over 140k streams across platforms.

Sucker For Stars is a rocker’s fantasy. Like a new band poster, the album offers fans a vivid image of what The Burma stands for as a band, printed in high gloss. A few of the featured tracks thrash lawlessly, inciting miniature musical riots while other ballad-type records live together in gently strummed harmony. With only guitars, drums, and vocals, The Burma has written an album that is rich and dynamic.

Proudly local, the band takes its name from The Burma Steps in Cobh, Co. Cork, Ireland. Its members are Tony O’Donovan (on vocals) and Peter Piggott (on guitar) who are both from Cobh as well as Cian Doherty (on drums) who is from Doolin Co. Clare. Drawing inspiration from The Strokes, Tame Impala and Daft Punk, the band has created a signature sound comparable to Glass Animals, MGMT and Foster the People.

The Burma muses on the making of their LP: “Sucker For Stars is a body of work which we officially started two and a half years ago - although it‘s been much longer in the making. The album represents two different sounds for us - the first, made up of 6 older songs which we’ve held onto over the years- and then 5 brand new songs showing where our writing style is at in its current form. It’s a milestone moment for us to have our debut album out in the world, it’s been a long time coming.”

Sucker For Stars LP Tracklist:

1. Out in The Heat

2. Don't Believe Your Dreams

3. Sucker For Stars

4. Sleepers

5. Magazine Road

6. Mike and Simone

7. Into The Light

8. Same Again

9. Hard to Say

10. Love Fades

11. Golden Girl

Upcoming Tour dates:

15th October - Whelans, Dublin

20th October - Spirit Store, Dundalk

21st October - Seachurch, Ballycotton, Cork

04 November - Dolans

Image credit: Ciara O Toole


5 vues0 commentaire


별점 5점 중 0점을 주었습니다.
등록된 평점 없음

평점 추가
bottom of page