top of page
  • Photo du rédacteurNEW KG

Teepee present their new single ‘Parallel World’

Image: David Broda

Dream-pop / Indie-folk Duo


ANNOUNCE Where the Ocean Breaks Album

SHARE ‘Parallel World’ Single


Dream-pop duo teepee release their latest single ‘Parallel World’ to be lifted from their upcoming album Where the Ocean Breaks, slated to drop on 31 January 2020 via Springstoff. The album was recorded at the Aurora Studios in Vienna together with producer Tom O. Marsh. Their previous single ‘No Reason’ was released to acclaim, and quickly went on to feature on popular Youtube channel Mr Suicide Sheep, racking up over 229 thousand views to date, before being added to Spotify's Indie Radar Playlist. The Prague-based duo has racked up over 200 thousand Spotify streams, seen support from Son Of Marketing, were nominated by Radio Wave’s export initiative Czeching and have shared the stage with names like Jesse Ware, Seafret, Oh Wonder, Peter Bjorn and John or Laurel. teepee have played numerous shows in the United Kingdom, Austria, Germany, Slovakia and Poland including Enea Spring Break, Waves Vienna, Nouvelle Prague, Rock For People, Sázavafest, Colors of Ostrava and Reeperbahn Festival and are looking forward to their performance at ESNS next week.

teepee is the spellbinding collaboration between singer-acoustic guitarist Miroslav Patočka (Mason) and singer-electric guitarist Tereza Lavičková. The duo met in high school and began making waves on the Czech independent music scene in 2015. Tereza began playing classical guitar at age 6, and Mason played a host of different instruments before settling on the guitar. The duo have since released a debut album and an EP. 

Inspired by acts like RY X, Nick Drake, Son Lux, and Sigur Rós, teepee's sound is defined by intoxicating vocal harmonies, with Miroslav's gentle acoustic guitar enhanced by fragile notes from Tereza’s electric guitar. Subtle samples and synthetic embellishments provide a bed for their melancholic, confessional English lyrics - with elements of their sound drawing parallels to the likes of Daughter, Bon Iver, and Aurora. 

On ‘Parallel World’, an upbeat atmosphere is conjured by both the melody as well as the emotionally naked lyrics, while the naturalistic production deepens the track’s intimacy. Framed by an off-the-cuff dreamlike sensuality, the track speaks of inner peace and the path to self-contentment, delivered in a package of beautiful vocals and inspired instrumentals.

“Everyone is searching for happiness, but maybe we are looking for it in the wrong places. While living in India, I finally realized that happiness is rooted within ourselves. It’s not about how many things you have, or how successful you are. No one else can make you happy if you are not happy within yourself. This song is about the parallel world that exists in all of us, but we just have a hard time to find it in this toxic society,” says Tereza.

 “For me, out of many other places, I found my parallel world in the ocean. While living in the Basque Country, I had the chance to go to the beach almost every day, sometimes learning to surf, or only to watch the waves. The place where the ocean breaks thus became very special for me – a place of peace and concentration,” adds  Miroslav.

teepee Upcoming Live Dates:

FRI 17 Jan | Lola | 21:30 - 22:15 | EUROSONIC

Where the Ocean Breaks Tracklist

1. hazel trees

2. parallel world

3. around it

4. moonlight rainbow

5. heavenly gates

6. starving hands

7. no reason

8. closer

9. running around

10. only one

11. halfway gone


2 vues0 commentaire


bottom of page